Board of Directors

The CBF is fortunate to have a diverse and talented group of attorneys and judges serving on its board. In a broad sense, the board’s responsibilities are to

  • set both short term and long term strategic goals and directions and policies for the CBF
  • raise funds and develop sufficient resources to carry out the CBF’s strategic goals and directions
  • build community awareness and support for the CBF’s mission, and
  • provide oversight of the CBF’s finances, grants and programs, and operations.


Verónica mez
Commonwealth Edison Company

1st Vice President
Cynthia Photos Abbott
Chicago Public Media

2nd Vice President
Gregory M. Boyle
Jenner & Block LLP

Nancy S. Gerrie
Winston & Strawn LLP

Hon. Mary Anne Mason (Ret.)


Maryam Ahmad
Cook County State’s Attorney’s Office

John J. Amberg
Northern Trust Company

Rachel M. Cannon
Dentons US LLP

Hon. Alison C. Conlon
Circuit Court of Cook County

Kareem Dale
Discover Financial Services

Octavio Duran
Duran Law Offices

Maja C. Eaton
Sidley Austin LLP

Christopher J. Esbrook
Esbrook Law LLC

Randall R. Fearnow
Quarles & Brady LLP

E. Lynn Grayson
Nijman Franzetti LLP

Ryan D. Harris
Kirkland & Ellis LLP

Anne Geraghty Helms
DLA Piper LLP (US)

Melissa B. Hirst

Cara M. Houck
Miller, Canfield, Paddock and Stone P.L.C.

Robert T. Howell, III
U.S. Commodity Futures Trading Commission

Whitney Hudson

Hon. LaShonda Hunt
U.S. Bankruptcy Court

Kenya A. Jenkins-Wright
Illinois Guardianship and Advocacy Commission

Jennifer J. C. Kelly
Anesi, Ozmon, Rodin, Novak & Kohen Ltd.

Colby Anne Kingsbury
Faegre Drinker Biddle & Reath LLP

Sang-yul Lee
K&L Gates LLP

Elizabeth P. Lewis
McDermott Will & Emery

Michael A. LoVallo
Reed Smith LLP

Amy B. Manning
McGuireWoods LLP

Ian H. Morrison
Seyfarth Shaw LLP

Thomas V. Panoff
Mayer Brown LLP

Hon. Nichole C. Patton
Circuit Court of Cook County

Brandon E. Peck
Peck Ritchey, LLC

Lisa Snow
Duff & Phelps, LLC

Susan Valentine
Valentine Austriaco & Bueschel, P.C.

Brent W. Vincent
Bryan Cave Leighton Paisner LLP

Kelly Warner
Riley Safer Holmes & Cancila LLP

Greta Weathersby
WEC Energy Group, Inc.

Steven A. Weiss


Norah L. Jones
Quarles & Brady LLP