2019 Pro Bono & Public Service Award Recipients

Each year the CBF partners with The Chicago Bar Association to recognize exemplary attorneys in our legal community through the CBF/CBA Pro Bono and Public Service Awards and the Justice John Paul Stevens Award.

The Pro Bono and Public Service Awards celebrate outstanding members of the legal profession who have used their talents and resources to improve access to justice for the less fortunate in our community. This year’s awards were presented at our annual Pro Bono and Public Service Awards Luncheon on July 23, 2019.


Kimball R. Anderson and Karen Gatsis Anderson Public Interest Law Fellowship
Sue Pak, Cabrini Green Legal Aid

Exelon Outstanding Corporate Counsel Award
Sherene Awad Jodrey, The Boeing Company

Richard J. Phelan Public Service Award
Hon. Cheryl A. Starks, Retired Judge, Circuit Court of Cook County

Edward J. Lewis II Pro Bono Service Award
Steven F. Pflaum, Neal, Gerber & Eisenberg LLP

Maurice Weigle Exceptional Young Lawyer Award
David Pi, Schiff Hardin LLP

Leonard Jay Schrager Award of Excellence
Maureen Kieffer, Loyola University Chicago School of Law

Thomas H. Morsch Public Service Award
Lisa Parsons, Legal Council for Health Justice

The Justice John Paul Stevens Award honors Justice Stevens, a Chicago native, for his lifetime effort to improve the system of justice and his active participation and dedication to the CBA. The award is presented at an annual luncheon to attorneys who best exemplify the Justice’s commitment to integrity and public service in the practice of law.