Walter H. Moses Sr. and Walter H. Moses Jr. Scholarship

The CBF Walter H. Moses Sr. and Walter H. Moses Jr. Scholarship was made possible by a gift from Eleanor Moses in memory of both her son and her late husband, a leading and highly respected member of the Chicago bar. Currently a $60,000 scholarship, it is awarded once every three years to one of the six Chicago-area law schools by rotation (Chicago-Kent College of Law, DePaul University College of Law, The John Marshall Law School, Loyola University Chicago School of Law, Northwestern University School of Law and University of Chicago Law School); the school then chooses the recipient. These funds, which are payable over three years, enable an incoming law student pursuing a public interest legal career to have a significant portion of his or her tuition covered by scholarship funding through the CBF.

2015 Recipient Eleanor Kittilstad

Eleanor Kittilstad, the 2015 Walter H. Moses Sr. and Walter H. Moses Jr. Scholar, graduated from the University of Minnesota in 2013 with a major in English and minor in Social Justice. Following graduation, Eleanor moved to Jackson, Mississippi, where she worked at the Southern Poverty Law Center (SPLC). As a legal assistant, Eleanor worked on cases related to confinement conditions at correctional facilities and juvenile incarceration. These experiences exposed her to the consequences of inadequate legal assistance, improper mental health care for people living in poverty, and to the injustices within the criminal justice system based on race and class. She found it striking that so many individuals do not receive the rehabilitative care and educational opportunities that they deserve.

In addition to working at the SPLC, she volunteered at an afterschool program in Jackson that serves children whose socio-economic status puts them “at risk.” Despite the enormous talent that every single one of these students had, Eleanor knew that statistically three or more of the ten male students in her classroom were projected either to be incarcerated, on parole or on probation. This awareness informed her decision to pursue a legal career in hopes of changing the odds for these children.

Eleanor attends the Northwestern Pritzker School of Law, where she continues to demonstrate her passion to help those disadvantaged by their disability and socioeconomic status. Since receiving the scholarship, Eleanor has worked as an intern at Equip for Equality’s Special Education Clinic. She is also enrolled with the Children and Family Justice Center Clinic, where she works on innocence claims for juveniles and provides legal assistance to youth with issues related to housing, education, and employment. At Northwestern, she is the President of the school’s ACLU chapter, the President of the Student Effort to Rejuvenate Volunteering, and a board member of the Disability Law Society.

The Chicago Bar Foundation is proud to support Eleanor through the Walter H. Moses Sr. and Walter H. Moses Jr. Scholarship as she embarks on a public interest law career to secure the rights of children and people with disabilities.

Previous Recipients

2012 – Marie E. Silver, DePaul University College of Law

2009 – Andrea R. Callow, Loyola University Chicago School of Law

2006 – Elizabeth Monterrosa, Chicago-Kent College of Law

2003 – James Brand, University of Chicago Law School

2000 – Brendon Renner, The John Marshall Law School