Celebrating Unsung Heroes in our Legal Community and Marking a Big Anniversary

Nearly 600 people came together last week to honor seven amazing lawyers and celebrate the 25th anniversary of the CBA/CBF Pro Bono & Public Service Awards Luncheon, which has become a signature event in our legal community.

Since the first edition of this event in 1999, it has been our great privilege to honor more than 150 unsung heroes of our Chicago legal community for their inspiring pro bono and public service commitment, and this year’s seven award recipients were no exception:

Kimball R. Anderson and Karen Gatsis Anderson Public Interest Law Fellowship

Andy Froelich, James B. Moran Center for Youth Advocacy

Justice Thomas L. Kilbride Public Service Award

Carina M.C. Segalini, Circuit Court of Cook County, Office of the Chief Judge

Leonard Jay Schrager Award of Excellence

Susan J. Curry, The University of Chicago Law School

Edward J. Lewis II Pro Bono Service Award

Steven P. Blonder, Much Shelist P.C.

Maurice Weigle Exceptional Young Lawyer Award

Whitney K. Siehl, Hagens Berman Sobol Shapiro LLP

Exelon Outstanding Corporate Counsel Award

Melvin Flowers, Accenture LLP

Thomas H. Morsch Public Service Award

Julie Elena Brown, Impact for Equity

We are all inspired by the dedication of these amazing lawyers to ensuring the most vulnerable in our community have access to the justice they deserve, not just what they can afford. We were also humbled that in addition to this year’s honorees, dozens of lawyers who received these awards in past years were able to attend and celebrate this milestone year for the event.  

You can find photos from the event and more information on this year’s honorees on the CBF Luncheon web page