Leonard Jay Schrager Award of Excellence

Congratulations to the recipient of the 2022 Leonard Jay Schrager Award of Excellence:

Dean Jennifer Rosato Perea, DePaul University College of Law


The Leonard Jay Schrager Award of Excellence was established to recognize exemplary attorneys in academia who have made significant and lasting contributions to improving access to justice for the less fortunate. The recipient must be an attorney employed by a Chicago area law school or law school clinic.

This Award is presented by The Chicago Bar Foundation and named in honor of Professor Leonard Jay Schrager, who has been a leader in the Chicago legal community for more than 30 years. Professor Schrager served as Dean of The John Marshall Law School from 1983 through 1987 and for many years after served as a distinguished Professor there. He is a founder and former senior managing partner in the Chicago law firm of Sachnoff, Schrager, Jones, Weaver and Rubenstein, Ltd., now known as Reed Smith LLP. Among many other community activities, he has served on the Special Commission on the Administration of Justice in Cook County, on the board of CARPLS, and as President of both The Chicago Bar Foundation and The Chicago Bar Association. He currently serves on the board of the Center for Conflict Resolution and is an active mediator and arbitrator and participates in a number of mediation training programs.

An attorney employed by a Chicago area law school or law school clinic will be selected for the Schrager Award based upon the excellence in the quality of the nominee’s work throughout his or her career; leadership and involvement in efforts that improve access to justice for people in our community who are challenged by poverty, abuse and discrimination; and success in promoting the values of pro bono and public service in the legal profession to law school students.

This Award has been generously endowed by the law firm of Reed Smith LLP and its partners, which allows the recipient of the award to designate a special Chicago Bar Foundation grant to the law school clinic or legal aid program of his or her choice.