CBA & CBF Pro Bono & Public Service Awards Luncheon

2019 Pro Bono & Public Service Award Recipients

The 2021 CBA & CBF Pro Bono & Public Service Awards Luncheon will take place on Friday, July 16 at the Hilton Chicago. The event will boast a hybrid format with both in-person and virtual viewing options. More information on how to reserve your spot and how to view the ceremony from home coming soon!

Pro bono and public service represent some of the noblest traditions in the legal profession, and the amount of work performed by individuals in our community is nothing short of amazing. The awards presented honor lawyers from a broad cross-section of the legal community whose passion for serving others is reflected in their extraordinary commitment to the ideals of equal access to justice. These awards also serve to build awareness of the impact our collective efforts can have in the lives of the most vulnerable people in our community.


Kimball R. Anderson and Karen Gatsis Anderson Public Interest Law Fellowship

Martin Cozzola, Chicago Volunteer Legal Services

Exelon Outstanding Corporate Counsel Award

Jane Mansell, McDonald’s Corporation

Richard J. Phelan Public Service Award

Marcia M. Meis, Administrative Office of the Illinois Courts

Edward J. Lewis II Pro Bono Service Award

Ken Schmetterer, DLA Piper LLP (US)

Maurice Weigle Exceptional Young Lawyer Award

Yasamin N. Kaye, Goldberg Kohn Ltd.

Leonard Jay Schrager Award of Excellence

Laurie Mikva, Northwestern Pritzker School of Law

Thomas H. Morsch Public Service Award

Wendy Pollack, Shriver Center on Poverty Law

Thank you to our 2020 sponsors!


  • Clifford Law Offices
  • Eimer Stahl LLP
  • Exelon
  • Jenner & Block LLP
  • Katten Muchin Rosenman LLP
  • Kirkland & Ellis LLP
  • Law Bulletin Media
  • LexisNexis
  • Porter Wright Morris & Arthur LLP
  • Ropes & Gray LLP
  • Sidley Austin LLP
  • Skadden, Arps, Slate, Meagher & Flom LLP
  • Stout
  • Tomasik Kotin Kasserman, LLC


  • DLA Piper LLP (US)
  • Faegre Drinker Biddle & Reath LLP
  • Duff & Phelps
  • Goldberg Kohn Ltd.
  • Jones Day
  • Kralovec, Jambois & Schwartz
  • Richard J. Prendergast, Ltd.
  • Winston & Strawn LLP


  • Aon
  • Attorneys’ Title Guaranty Fund, Inc.
  • Baker McKenzie LLP
  • Barack Ferrezzano Kirschbaum & Nagelberg LLP
  • Bartlit Beck LLP
  • Brinks Gilson & Lione
  • Bryan Cave Leighton Paisner LLP
  • CBA Insurance Agency
  • CME Group
  • Dentons US LLP
  • Discover Financial Services
  • Dykema Gossett PLLC
  • GrowthPlay
  • Heyl, Royster, Voelker & Allen P.C.
  • Honigman LLP
  • Latham & Watkins LLP
  • Levenfeld Pearlstein, LLC
  • Mayer Brown LLP
  • McDermott Will & Emery
  • McDonald’s Corporation
  • Miller, Canfield, Paddock, and Stone P.L.C.
  • Minnesota Lawyers Mutual Insurance Company
  • Morgan, Lewis & Bockius LLP
  • Passen & Powell
  • Peoples Gas
  • Pincus Professional Education
  • Quarles & Brady LLP
  • Reed Smith LLP
  • Scharf Banks & Marmor LLC
  • Schiff Hardin LLP
  • Leonard & Joyce Schrager
  • Segal McCambridge Singer & Mahoney, Ltd.
  • Seyfarth Shaw LLP
  • Verity Group

For more information, contact Emme Veenbaas at or 312.554.1247.