CBA & CBF Pro Bono & Public Service Awards Luncheon

Save the date for next year’s awards luncheon – Monday, July 17, 2017!
July 18, 2016

The Fairmont Chicago


Kelly McNamara Corley
Discover Financial Services

Rebecca S. Eisner
Mayer Brown LLP

Pro bono and public service represent some of the noblest traditions in the legal profession, and the amount of work performed by individuals in our community is nothing short of amazing. The awards presented at the CBA & CBF Pro Bono & Public Service Awards Luncheon honor lawyers from a broad cross-section of the legal community whose passion for serving others is reflected in their extraordinary commitment to the ideals of equal access to justice. Recognizing several of our profession’s unsung heroes and their dedication to pro bono and public service, these awards also serve to build awareness of the impact our collective efforts can have in the lives of the most vulnerable people in our community.

This year’s awards were presented by Co-Chairs Kelly McNamara Corley and Rebecca Eisner Reed on July 18, 2016 at the Fairmont Hotel. For more information, you can read the press release about the event or watch videos of the event or the individual award recipients’ remarks.

Special thanks to the sponsors that made this event possible.


The Kimball R. Anderson and Karen Gatsis Anderson Public Interest Law Fellowship
Amanda WalshLegal Council for Health Justice

The Exelon Outstanding Corporate Counsel Award
Eric CarlsonMcDonald’s Corporation

The Leonard Jay Schrager Award of Excellence
Shaye L. LoughlinDePaul University College of Law

The Edward J. Lewis II Pro Bono Service Award
Lawrence A. WojcikDLA Piper LLP (US)

The Maurice Weigle Exceptional Young Lawyer Award
Andrew F. MerrickJenner & Block LLP

The Richard J. Phelan Public Service Award
Deborah HaganOffice of the Illinois Attorney General

The Thomas H. Morsch Public Service Award
Timothy J. Hufman, LAF

Congratulations to Ellen Douglass and Jan Feldman, winners of the event’s Drawing for Justice. Ellen will select a CBF-supported pro bono and legal aid organization to receive a special $1,000 grant in her name, and Jan will receive a signed copy of Patti Smith’s new book, “Just Kids.”

For more information, contact Christopher Montiel at or (312) 554-8303.